You were involved in a car accident that resulted in injuries and/or vehicle damage. Your immediate step should be about informing the police. If a police officer didn’t investigate the case, the laws require you to file a report within 10 days from the date of the accident. In your best interests, informing the police is a wise step, because if the other party was at fault, the police report can help you file a personal injury lawsuit. In this post, we are sharing 5 reasons why you need to consider hiring a Houston car accident attorney.
- To maximize your financial compensation
One of the key reasons why you need an attorney is to get the financial compensation that you deserve. The settlement will not just cover for your medical bills, but also loss of wages and other losses. Your attorney will fight for your rights and ensure that you get the compensation that you deserve.
- To avoid getting blamed
Texas follows the “modified” comparative fault rule. This simply means that if you had part role in the accident, your awarded compensation will reduce by that percentage. For instance, if you were given $10,000 in compensation and your share of blame is 10%, you will only get $9.000. The at-fault party and their insurer may try to pin the entire blame on you. An attorney can help in avoiding such situations.
- To negotiate with the insurance company
If the insurance company knows that their party shares majority of blame, their claims adjuster may make an offer or ask for a statement. For insurance companies, reducing their financial liability is the immediate concern, and they often adhere to many tactics for that. Hire a lawyer, so that you don’t have to work with the claims adjuster.
- To file a lawsuit
What if negotiations with the insurance company fail? You have the option to file a personal injury lawsuit, for which you need an attorney. Your lawyer can ensure that your case is strong enough to maximize the compensation, and they will take care of the paperwork too.
- To save time
The statute of limitations in Texas allows only 2 years to file personal injury lawsuits against the party at fault, counting from date of the accident. In other words, you have to act quickly.
Talk to a known car accident attorney right after your accident, so that you don’t have a hard time building your case.