Check the basic things about workers’ compensation in Virginia 

In Virginia, all employers are required to have workers’ compensation insurance, if they have three or more workers working for them. While this can be seen as an added expense, employers also have the added immunity that an employee cannot sue them for a work-related injury. If you ever get injured at work, there are a few things worth knowing, including the relevance of hiring a Richmond injured at work lawyer.

  1. Reporting the incident. To get the benefits of workers’ compensation in the state, you have to report the incident to your employer within 30 days from the date of the accident, or discovery of occupational disease by a doctor. You have to also report the incident to Virginia Workers Compensation Commission within a period of 2 years. 
  2. Filing the claim. Virginia follows the no-fault rule when it comes to workers’ compensation. This means you can ask for benefits of the workers’ compensation system, no matter whether you had a role in the accident or not. Also, the compensation is paid by the insurance company of your employer, not your employer. 
  3. Standing up to your employer. Like we mentioned earlier, you cannot sue your employer directly for a work-related injury or occupational injury in Virginia. However, if your employer has done wrong with regards to your complaint, or has retaliated, you may consider standing up to them. 
  4. You should consider engaging a lawyer. Working with a lawyer with experience of handling workers’ compensation claims and appeals can come in handy in many ways. Keep in mind that you have to prove all your detailed aspects of the claim, and without legal assistance, you can have a hard time. 
  5. Be cautious with insurance companies. When it comes to insurance companies and the offer they make, be very cautious and careful. There is always a chance that they may reject your claim, or offer an amount that’s less than what you deserve, simply because they want to reduce their financial liability. 

Hiring a lawyer for your case is among the best things you can do for your workers’ compensation claim. They can help with the appeals that may be required, if your claim is rejected in the first place. Also, don’t shy away from hiring a lawyer who is experienced, rather than someone who doesn’t devote a considerable part of their work and practice to workers’ compensation cases and employment law. 

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button