Unfortunately, car accidents happen all the time, and Colorado reports a considerable number of cases every year. If you ever have the misfortune of getting injured in an accident due to someone else’s fault, you can seek compensation for your losses. The compensation will cover for your medical bills, lost earning capacity, loss of income, and other losses. To ensure that you get a settlement that you deserve, it is wise to have an experienced Grand Junction auto accident lawyer by your side. In this post, we are sharing more on the auto accident laws in Colorado.
Understanding minimum liability insurance
All drivers in Colorado are required to have minimum liability coverage of $25,000 for each person and $50,000 for each accident. So, if you file a claim with the insurance company of the other driver and their fault is proven, you can expect to get compensated from the insurer. You also have the choice to file a claim with your own insurance company, and once fault is proven, the at-fault driver’s insurance company will pay your insurer. Sometimes, it is possible that the insurance company will make an offer that’s way less than what you deserve, or the settlement amount may not cover for all your losses. In such cases, you can file a personal injury lawsuit.
Statute of limitations
As in other states, Colorado also has a statute of limitations, which allows a time period of three years to victims of car accidents to bring a personal injury lawsuit. The counting starts from the date of the accident.
Should you hire a lawyer?
Hiring a top auto accident lawyer for your case can have many benefits. Firstly, your lawyer will guide on your rights, ensure that your interests are protected, and as needed that they will talk to the insurance company of the other party. Note that just because you have three years doesn’t mean you should wait for that long to file your lawsuit. Insurance companies, however, should be informed right after the accident, or at the earliest. Allow your lawyer to explain the process, what you can realistically expect in compensation, and how they plan to proceed with the case. The good news is most auto accident lawyers work on a contingency basis, so you will only pay them if they win a settlement for you.
Check online now to find the best lawyers in Colorado and discuss your case.